Gallery

I AM WITH YOU


I am with you

Softly,

Yet strangely firm they flow –

The words from your mouth,

Caressing my icy soul to warmth

And rousing my spirit from its ashes

As gently as the early morning sun

Warms the flourishing flowers in the meadows;

Tenderly,

Yet strangely solid they flow –

The words from your lips,

Lulling my broken spirit to mend,

And gently stirring my dying being* to life

As a birthing mother lolls her babe to forty winks**

And the southern winds sing for the beach palms to dance.

Your words,

Your loving words;

Summed up in just one statement

I am with you each and every day until the end of the age”***

Tells me all I need to know –

And now I am at peace.

For even in my travails and prevails,

You rest by my side.

© Oluwaseun Adegbohun

Glossary

*Body

**Sleep; Slumber

***Matthew 28:20

4 comments on “I AM WITH YOU

Leave a Reply

